A straightforward use case
You just noticed that there are loads of errors in the product information of one given product. You don't know what happened but someone messed up with your dear information. So you wish you could go back in time to get a version of this product where its information was way better.
It's totally possible with the restore feature. You can browse through the whole history of a product to find a good version according to your point of view and then, restore it.
The restore function
Akeneo PIM allows you to restore your published version to work on it and get back to your latest working copy afterward.
Restoring a version means reverting the product to an earlier version. For example, if you have 5 product versions, it is possible to go back to version #3, which will not consider any changes done afterward.
Restoring a version does not delete information, but generates a new version representing the restored version.
In this example, the newly created version contains all changes generated by the restored version #3; in this case, this will cancel the price and the picture changes.
It is then possible to add weight to the product, save the change, and publish it. Thus the published product form has not been changed, only the weight has been added.
To go back to the current version that is currently enriched (include the price and the picture), simply restore the version that contains the changes.
How to restore a product?
To restore a version:
- Go to Products
- Click on the product to restore
- Click on the History menu entry
- Click on the Restore button that is on the row of the version of the product you want to restore
- The version is restored.
Your administrator may use the purge of entities; in this case, you will only see the first and last versions of your product.
Quick overview of our product version restoration feature:
- You can only restore versions for one product at a time
- You can only view & restore the last 200 versions of a product
- You can only view & restore the versions of the previous 90 days
- Product versions are not purged:
- When the product is a published product
- When it's the first version
- When it's the only and last version