What's new in Serenity EE & GE?
Discover our features per version

Heads up! This is the documentation for our Akeneo Serenity Enterprise and Growth editions. Serenity clients benefit from exclusive access to our latest PIM features. If you're interested in other versions, click on the drop down menu on the top right corner or check out everything you need to know about your version.

Manage your channels

#List channels

To see your current channels, go to Settings/Channels.

List of channels

#Create a channel

You must be granted a specific permission to be able to create a channel.

To create a channel:

  1. Go to Settings/Channels
  2. Click on the Create channel button Create a channel
  3. The creation form of a channel is displayed
  4. Provide information for all the mandatory fields in the property tab such as:
    • A unique code to identify the channel in the PIM
    • The currencies for the channel
    • The locales to activate for the channel: this information will be used to select which product information will be exported for this channel (via the selection of locales and currencies)
    • The expected category tree for the channel: this information will be used to select which products will be exported for this channel (via the tree selection)
    • The labels for the activated locales
    • The conversion unit for each measurement attribute that will be used for the product export
  5. Click on the Save button

The channel is now created.

One channel can only be linked to one category tree.

#Edit a channel

To edit a channel:

  1. Go to Setting/Channels
  2. Click on the channel you would like to edit
  3. Make your changes
  4. Click on the Save button

The channel is updated accordingly. The changes will be reflected in the PIM in the next few minutes.

#Check the channel history

Changes made on a channel are recorded and visible under the history tab of channels. For example: label change, attribute change, etc.

For each change, a version of the channel is created. The following information is tracked down for each version:

  • The person or system that generated changes
  • The date and time (down to seconds) at which the changes took place
  • The old value and the new value of each modified field

To view the versions of a channel:

  1. Open & edit the channel tab
  2. Click on the History tab, the list of versions will be displayed.

Unlike products, you cannot revert changes made on a channel.

#Delete a channel

This operation cannot be reverted.

You have two ways to proceed to delete a channel. Through the channel form:

  1. Go to Settings/Channels to list the channels
  2. Click on the channel to delete
  3. Click on ... for other actions and then Delete on the top right corner image
  4. Confirm the action via the validation message

Through the Delete shortcut in the grid: image

  1. Select the channel you want to remove from the channel grid
  2. Place your mouse over the line of channel in the grid, the button delete is prompted (trash can icon)
  3. Click on the trash can icon
  4. Confirm the action via the validation message

The channel will be removed from the PIM.


Want to find out more? Take a look at these related articles